I’m staying

Hi there! I hope you are all doing well?

As promised, this time I’m putting up a much shorter blogpost than last time. Therefore I’m not going to tell you everything that has been going on in the past few days, I’m just giving you the highlights. As you can see in the picture above I am adapting very well to the Netherlands. Instead of Belgian fries with mayonnaise I am now eating “verse patat met fritessaus”, haha!

Let’s start with the positive news. As you could probably already tell from the title, I passed my resit exams (more or less) which means I’m allowed to stay in Rotterdam. YAY!  I received the news last Friday and I couldn’t be more happy. I finally feel like all the hard work from the past years is starting to pay off. Yesterday evening we received our final grades:

punten

As you can see in the screenshot above I didn’t actually pass the course “Communicatiepsychologie”, but because I got a 9/20 (luckily) I was able to use some of my toleration credits for it.

Next I would like to share a first experience with you: I DID MY LAUNDRY. I know this will sound like a real luxury problem coming from a 23-year-old, but I hadn’t done the laundry on my own before and I was quite stressed about it going wrong. On Monday I decided I couldn’t hold it off any longer, so I decided to just go for it. I reserved both washing machines in our building at 10PM and a dryer at 11PM.

I am very happy to tell you that everything went all right! All my clothes still have the same colors and sizes as before and I didn’t lose any of my socks, so I consider this mission as accomplished. I was way too proud of myself and jokingly sent Ben that he’ll have a perfect housewife when I go back home after Erasmus. I feel like I should earn adult points for this.

laundry

To end this blogpost I want to share some sad news with you, because unfortunately that is also a part of life. I don’t want to go into too much detail about it, but I spent last weekend at home. On Sunday the 10th of September, I attended my grandmother’s funeral. I will continue to remember her as a strong and proud woman. She will be dearly missed.

omafien

It was the first time in my life that I lost a person that close to me, so it was quite an emotional and overwhelming experience. I cried several times. Luckily Ben was by my side the entire time, I am thankful to have him in my life knowing he’s there to support me.

I guess that’s all for now. Besides the things that I mentioned above I have been really busy for school since last Thursday, but I’ll try to tell you more about that in my next post. Lots of love,

Jolien

 

Leave a Reply

