Making sushi, getting old & spending too much money

Hi guys! How are you doing? I can’t believe summer is already over, and autumn has officially begun. Time is going by so incredibly fast!

To be honest, not that much has happened in the past few days. In school we are currently writing chapter #3 of our e-book and because I worked a lot on the last chapter, my group didn’t give me much work this time. Because of that, I finally had some more time to do other things besides schoolwork!

In the beginning of this week I attempted to make sushi for the first time ever, and it turned out quite okay! As some of you may already know I refuse to eat any kind of fish, so I just made sushi with cucumber (or kappa maki, however you want to call it).

sushi
Sushi in the making
foto-18-09-16-14-39-25
The final result of my first attempt at making sushi

On Tuesday my Dream Team and I decided to go for a “teambuilding” after class. In other words: we went to a bar to drink a beer and eat some bitterballs (Tereza really wanted to try some as it is a Dutch specialty). We decided to go to the Après Skihut. I was surprised to see they served Jupiler instead of Heineken! As a Belgian I can’t complain about that, haha.

foto-20-09-16-15-42-10
Enjoying some beer and bitterballs with our Dream Team
foto-20-09-16-17-45-01
De Après Skihut Rotterdam

In the evening some of our friends were going to the ESN party at Plan C. We got together at Anse’s place to already drink something and to watch some funny movies on Youtube. I thought this was the best part of the evening to be honest.

Afterwards we went to the ESN party, which was okay, but I already left around 1:00AM. Being around all those 19-year-olds that get crazy drunk from drinking just two beers made me realize how old I am getting, haha. And maybe I just wasn’t in the mood to party. I was happy when I got to my dorm and I could crawl back into my bed.

foto-21-09-16-00-43-50
ESN Tuesdays at Plan C

I noticed that going for a drink here can be quite expensive. And as if that wasn’t bad enough for my bank account, I decided to spend even more money…

Okay, so let’s start by saying that I LOVE Michael Kors bags. Their quality is so good, I’d rather buy one of them than 10 cheap ones. So you could say they’re an investment really. Is that a way to justify such an expensive bag, haha? Because it was on sale (-20% at Bijenkorf) and because I thought I had deserved a treat for passing my resit exams, I decided to buy one. I ended up buying the Savannah Large Saffiano Leather Satchel in black. No regrets.

foto-23-09-16-11-24-32
Michael Kors Savannah Large Saffiano Leather Satchel in black

Then there are two more (exciting) things that required quite some money. In October, we are going on a school trip to London for 4 days. Because I love myself a city trip, I decided to book 2 nights extra to explore. I’ve been there multiple times already, but I just can’t seem to get enough of this city!

Later in October, Ben will come to visit me here in Rotterdam. We booked a room in the CitizenM hotel for 3 nights. I am so excited! There are so many things I want to do with him: go to the Markthal, explore the Kijk-kubus and some more architecture (he’s an engineer so he likes stuff like that), visit Blijdorp Rotterdam Zoo, go to Den Haag and Scheveningen, … Probably not all of this will happen because he’s only here for 3 days, but we can only try right?

I think that’s all that has happened in the past few days. Besides that I’ve slept A LOT (I’ve been so incredibly tired and I have no clue why) and I watched some series on Netflix. Seriously, thank God for Netflix.

foto-21-09-16-21-37-02
My bed, Netflix and a cup of mint tea is all I need to keep myself busy for an entire day.

Bye for now! Lots of love,

Jolien

Leave a Reply

