A little ill & a lot of me-time

Hi guys! What have you been up to? I haven’t really done any major things in the past week. I haven’t been feeling that well to be honest, so besides schoolwork I have been sleeping and watching a lot of Netflix in my dorm. Even though I mostly stayed in, I can tell you about a few things I did.

On Saturday the 24th of September, I decided to just walk around a little in the centre of Rotterdam. I randomly came across the statue on the picture below. Uhm… Can we all agree on the fact that it looks a little strange? It is meant to represent Santa Claus holding up a Christmas tree, but I mean… After taking a closer look at it I learned that it was “Santa Claus”, a statue made by Paul McCarthy. Apparently the people here refer to it as “Kabouter Buttplug”. I can see why.

foto-24-09-16-16-34-38
The statue Santa Claus (also known as Kabouter Buttplug) by Paul McCarthy

Rotterdam is a city filled with statues and other art. I learned that this particular statue is part of a walking route named “Beeldenroute Westersingel”, in which you walk past 17 different statues. I’ll remember that for later, if I don’t know what to do one day. (And I’ll definitely report back to you if I do so.)

On Tuesday I went to the Markthal, as I had been craving a bubble tea for some reason. I almost never drink bubble tea, it had been a few years since I drank one, so I don’t even know why haha. I also did a little shopping at Wah Nam Hong while I was there, and I ate a little Vietnamese spring roll. (Because you know, food is love, food is life.)

bubbletea
Snapchat x bubble tea
foto-27-09-16-18-20-40
Yes, I bought fortune cookies
foto-27-09-16-17-41-32
Vietnamese spring roll from Wah Nam Hong

In the evening some friends and I decided to give the ESN party another try. First we played some games at Anse’s place, afterwards we went to the party by bike. On the way there a bird pooped on my shoulder, haha… Maybe that was a bad sign? The party itself was better than last time, however I still didn’t like it that much. The music wasn’t great, the drinks were expensive, the guys were annoying, … Oh well. Maybe next time I’ll try to convince the others to go to another place (I quite liked the Après Skihut).

party
Some fragments of my Snapchat story that evening
on-erasmus-while-having-a-boyfriend
Applicable to the ESN party

Since Wednesday I haven’t been feeling that well, so I mostly stayed in my dorm room. Apart from schoolwork, doing laundry and cleaning, I watched a lot of Netflix. I also watched the First Presidential Debate this week. Even though both Trump and Hillary didn’t really impress me, I was really annoyed at Trump’s behavior and constant interrupting. I don’t know what to say about the upcoming elections, other than that I’m glad I’m not an American.

Today I went back to the Markthal. I decided to eat at Elliniko, a Greek restaurant. I had the Gyros plate and a Coke Zero: it was SO much food and it only costed €12 in total. I thought that was a good price for so much and such good food in the centre of Rotterdam! Although it was quite weird going to a restaurant on my own (I got asked multiple times if I was waiting on a date), I’m happy I went. No regrets, the food was definitely worth it.

foto-2-10-16-13-49-47
Elliniko – The all day Greek
foto-2-10-16-13-56-44
The original Gyros plate at Elliniko

Afterwards I bought some chocolates at Leonidas and I went shopping at the Bijenkorf. Because you know, shopping always makes you feel better, haha!  I ended up buying a new Chanel nail polish in a dark green (almost black) color and a new charm for my Pandora bracelet in the shape of a windmill. I thought this windmill would be a great souvenir to remind myself of my Erasmus period here in Rotterdam.

foto-2-10-16-15-59-17
Belgian chocolate is the best chocolate
foto-2-10-16-15-09-16
Chanel bags are so pretty
aankopen
My purchases at the Bijenkorf

Now I’m just back in my bed, writing this post with Netflix playing in the background. I hope I will get better soon, as I have some exciting things coming up! But I will tell you more about that in my next post…

Bye for now! Lots of love,

Jolien

Leave a Reply

