I (already) did it

Hi guys! I hope all is well? I myself am finally feeling a little better than I did in the past few days. So, you know how in my last blogpost I said I would report back to you when I walked the Beeldenroute Westersingel? Well, yesterday I did! I also did some other stuff, I guess I wanted to compensate for staying in much when I wasn’t feeling well.

First of all, I went to the Markthal to grab a little bite. I decided to eat the croquetas de jamon ibérico at tapasbar 21 Pinchos. A little more expensive than I had hoped, but they were quite good. Not as good as the ones I remember eating in Sevilla though!

foto-4-10-16-12-13-35
Croquetas de jamón ibérico and a Pepsi light @ tapasbar 21 Pinchos

Next I took the tram to Pathé De Kuip, a movie theatre here in Rotterdam. I went to see the movie Sausage Party. It was full of absurd and adolescent humor, as I had expected. I didn’t think it was great, but I did like it! I definitely don’t regret watching it or anything. I had a laugh and that was exactly what I needed after feeling ill and staying in a lot.

foto-4-10-16-15-00-33
Pathé De Kuip
foto-4-10-16-14-57-20
Nice and quiet in the middle of the day!

As the name of the movie theatre already suggests, it was very close to De Kuip. De Kuip is the football stadium from Feyenoord, the football team from Rotterdam or “de Trots van Zuid” as the fans sometimes call the team. Rightly so, because they are doing really well lately! I decided to just walk around the stadium and take a few pictures.

foto-4-10-16-15-11-30
Stadion Feyenoord a.k.a. De Kuip
foto-4-10-16-15-11-02
Stadion Feyenoord a.k.a. De Kuip

Very random: on the way back to the tram I passed this mosque. Isn’t it such a pretty building?

Foto 4-10-16 15 27 14.jpg
Essalam Islamic Cultural Centre Rotterdam

So, on to the main part of this blogpost. Then I went to walk the Beeldenroute Westersingel! The walking route actually wasn’t as long as I thought it would be, all the statues were placed quite close to each other. Here are some pictures of the statues in order of how I walked past them. I also included some other pictures I took along the way.

1
Statue nr.1 / “Ongebroken Verzet” by Hubert van Lith
1-1
Pretty buildings I came across on the way
2
Statue nr.2 / “Formule B” by Job Koelewijn / I really tried my best but I couldn’t find it! It’s supposed to be a metal structure in the water… I have no clue.
2-2
Another pretty building I walked by along the way
3
Statue nr.3 / by Joel Shapiro (no name)
1
Statue nr.4 / “La Grande Musicienne” by Henri Laurens
2
Statue nr.5 / “Moeder en Kind” (“Mother and Child”) by Carel Visser
3
Statue nr.6 / “Liggende figuur” by Fritz Wotruba
4
Statue nr.7 / “Het Afscheid” by Umberto Mastroianni
5
Statue nr.8 / “L’Homme qui Marche” by Auguste Rodin
6
Statue nr.9 / “Santa Claus” by Paul McCarthy again! (Read more about it in my previous blogpost.)
1
Coffee break at the Coffee Company
2
Iced coffee for life
3
Statue nr.10 / “Anita” by David Bade
4
Statue nr.11 / “Qwertz” by Franz West
5
Statue nr.12 / “Sylvette” by Pablo Picasso (my favorite of this route!)
6
Statue nr.13 / “De Hals” by John Blake
1
Statue nr.14 / “Elevazione” by Giuseppe Penone
2
Statue nr.15 / by Richard Artschwager (no name)

 

3
No “official” art, but how cute is this!
4
Statue nr.16 / by Frans and Marja de Boer-Lichtveld (no name)
5
Statue nr.17 / “De lange, gele benen van de architectuur” by Coop Himmelb(l)au

Afterwards I went to McDonalds for dinner, then I went back to my dorm. And that was my day!

foto-4-10-16-17-04-54
Fries. It’s what’s for dinner.

Bye for now! Lots of love,

Jolien

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

