A day in Amsterdam & our last pressure cooker

Hi guys! I hope you are all doing well? Whilst I am writing this there’s only 12 days left of my stay here in Rotterdam. Isn’t it crazy how fast time flies by sometimes? There are still some places I want to visit in this neighbourhood and I definitely will do so before I go back home, so keep your eyes peeled for that. But for now, I will just tell you about my (very short) trip to Amsterdam and our last pressure cooker of the #GetConnected minor programme.

Last Saturday I decided to take a trip to Amsterdam, just to do some shopping and to explore a little. It wasn’t my first time in Amsterdam, so I wasn’t planning on doing that much really! I just wanted a nice day to myself, haha.

aaaaaa

aaaaa

aaaa

aa

aaa

I went shopping at (amongst others) Primark, Douglas, Jamin and De Bijenkorf and ended up buying a lot more than I had planned on (oops), but I am very happy with all the bits I found! For late lunch / early dinner I decided to go to the Food Hallen, it was very busy there but – my god – it was so hard to choose between all these delicious looking food stalls! I ended up eating a “luxurious dog” (hot dog with a pork sausage, wild mushrooms, truffle and hazelnuts) at Bulls And Dogs which definitely wasn’t a bad choice.

bijen

1

2

5

3

4

6

7

Afterwards I was planning on going to the Begijnhof and the flower market, but I didn’t make it there on time. Instead, I ended up going to Body Worlds, an exposition I walked by close to the Central Station and that looked quite interesting (some of you may recognize it by its German name Körperwelten).

In this traveling exhibition you can see real, plastinated human bodies and body parts. By reading the signs next to these you can discover the secrets of happiness and its effects on the human body. (WARNING: below there are some more graphic photos of the Body Worlds exposition, please click away if you don’t want to see them!) After visiting the exhibition I took the train back to Rotterdam.

b

bb
(Don’t forget to ask for your student discount!)

bbb

bbbb

c

cc

ccc

d
The effects of obesity on the body.

e

ee

f

ff

g

gg
Not going to lie: because I have quite some knee issues myself, seeing all the knee joints made me cringe a little, haha!
ggg
Boys are strange. (Admit it, you were curious about it too!)
gggg
Boys are strange part II. (To me it looked like a sea creature at first…)
h
Development of the bone structure.
hh
12-week-old embryo. I was surprised at how much it looks like a baby already!
i
Time to go home again.
ii
Bye Amsterdam!

On Monday we had our very last pressure cooker, together with students from another minor. In just a few hours time, we had to think of, film, edit and upload a 30 sec. social video about the accessibility of Rotterdam. If you are curious about the video our group made, please watch it here. On this page you can see all the videos from all the groups.

j
Storyboard a.k.a. video prepping.
k
Going to my dorm again – IT’S GETTING SO COLD.
kk
It’s all solid ice.

That’s it for now, but I’ll make sure to be back soon with another blogpost.

Bye for now! Lots of love,

Jolien

Leave a Reply

