My 7 goals for 2017

As 2017 is fast approaching, I have come up with some personal new year’s resolutions. I have some major things coming up in 2017 so it’s not going to be “just another year” for me – it’s going to be big! I am both incredibly excited and a little scared at the same time. Let’s move on to my ultimate #2017GOALS!

Goal #1 – Graduate from college

People that know me, know that after high school my education path hasn’t always been smooth sailing. After two years of studying the academic bachelor Applied Linguistics (English & Italian) at Lessius, I quit because it was too hard for me and it was simply not leading anywhere. It is never fun to admit something is too difficult and in a way you “failed”, but I have never regretted trying and I’m glad I took that chance.

Afterwards I started the professional bachelor Communication Management at AP Hogeschool, and I chose for the specialization Commercial Communication. Currently I am in my last year, so that’s where the exciting news comes in: if everything goes right I should be graduating in June 2017! I hope that finally, after six years of working hard and never giving up, I earn that bachelors degree I worked so hard for and quite frankly I think I deserved!

ap_logo-gif

Goal #2 – Graduate from night school

As I said before, education-wise I haven’t always had the best luck. If I get my bachelors degree in June, I will have studied for six years after high school, whilst a bachelors program can be done in as little as 3 years if everything goes right. Because I feel a little insecure about my delay, I have decided to attend night school and hopefully earn an extra degree. I am convinced this will be an advantage when going on the hunt for a new job.

So as of February, I will be attending Human Resource Management classes in night school (via Centrum voor Avondonderwijs). The program consists of twelve 3-hour classes, once a week, and will take place at the Karel De Grote Hogeschool campus Groenplaats. This means that hopefully I will not only earn my bachelors degree in Commercial Communication in June, but also earn a recognized degree in Human Resource Management in May!

logo-avondsonderwijs

Goal #3 – Land my first full-time job

Like many people, I started doing student jobs and/or weekend work in the year I turned sixteen. I have done various of these jobs in the past, and I feel like even though not all of them suited the bachelors degree I will end up with, in the end I learned something valuable in every single one of these jobs. Not only professionally, but also in terms of attitude, soft skills, customer service, working in teams as well as be given responsibilities individually.

In the summer of 2017 I will carry out my last student job ever, after nine years of student jobs and weekend work. Chances are high that I will be working at DAF Trucks over the summer, same as I did last year. Afterwards I will be going on the hunt for my first “real” full-time job. I don’t know to which companies I will apply yet, but I have thought of the things that I find important in a job I will hopefully be doing for the rest of my life:

  • I want to work for a company or brand that I look up to, identify with, share the same values with and can be proud of.
  • The company should have a good atmosphere and nice colleagues, it should be a place I am comfortable and like to spend around 8 hours a day.
  • I prefer to work in Geel (the city I currently live in and intend to stay living in) or in a city that is easily accessible by public transport.
schermafbeelding-2016-12-27-om-00-37-33
Took this photo at DAF Trucks last summer.

Goal #4 – Buy a building lot

My boyfriend and I have lived together for a few years while we were both still in college/university. At the moment we are both living back home with our parents, but we are looking forward to build our own house and move in together again. We have been occasionally looking for a building lot around Geel, and a little while ago we came across one we are really fond of!

It is everything I have ever wanted in a building lot: big enough to build a freestanding house, close to the city center but in a street that is not too loud and busy, quite close to my parents’ house (but not too close) and in a safe neighborhood to raise our future children. Earlier this month we placed a bid on it, so I hope that in 2017 we can sign the papers and call ourselves the proud owners of the (according to me) perfect building lot!

Goal #5 – Have a big cleanup

For the first time in almost six years, I am permanently living back home with my parents again. This means that all my stuff from home, my dorm in Antwerp, my dorm in Rotterdam, … is finally all in one place. I hope to sort out everything I own at the moment, store the things I can still use when I move in with my boyfriend, and clear out all the things I don’t need anymore. I already know this will take a LOT of time, but it is something that needs to be done sooner or later!

packing
This is only half of the stuff I packed in my room in Rotterdam. So I guess this x10 is the amount of things I need to get through…

Goal #6 – Go to Disneyland Paris

Haha , does this even need an explanation? I’ve been to Disneyland Paris two times before, but it really is a magical place and I can’t wait to go back there. So let’s all hope that will happen in 2017!

img_5958
Some photos of last time Ben and I were at Disneyland Paris.

img_5973img_5901img_5922img_5924

Goal #7 – Lose some weight (again)

The people who know me, know I am a eternal yo-yo-er in weight. Over the last five years my weight has fluctuated with as much as 40kgs, up and down, down and up. I refuse to put any numbers on my goal, but my goal is to lose at least some weight by the end of 2017. The numbers on the scale don’t matter as much to me anymore as they used to, as long as I will feel better about myself and my body I will see my goal as accomplished.

weight
Me (and my weight) throughout the past few years.

img_1630

So these are my goals for 2017. Have you thought about some new year’s resolutions yet? If you have, please leave them in the comments down below!

Bye for now! Lots of love,

Jolien

 

Leave a Reply

